do you want to choose the path in ICT?

Tour of A3 and Its Progress

Assalamualaikum and a very good day to all!

Hectic weeks are coming and now here we are in the process of completing our Assignment 3.

So far, as for my group I would say that we are already done with our lesson plans and also our very first thorough consultation session with Miss Ng. I would say that we have gained a lot of information during that consultation session.

And honestly I would admit that I had to defend some parts of my three-hour lesson plans and pointed out my argument as well. Sorry Miss Ng! šŸ™‚

Indeed, it is not an easy task to design student-centred, personalised and higher order thinking lessons. I would say that I really really had a crack in my head just as to come out with three-hour lesson plans.

However, by the time I am writing this post I am already done with my lesson plans and now I think I can proceed preparing the teaching-learning materials.


Thus, here are my seven possible items which might ensure on effective student-centred, personalised and higher order thinking lessons that I took into account when planning my lessons.

1st Point: Set objectives and expectations

I believe in whatever we are doing, there must be a reason behind it and I honestly feel there is no such thing as SIMPLY doing any particular action and same goes when planning lesson. It is crucial for me and teachers out there to set lesson objectives and also teachersā€™ expectations from pupils. I realised that when I set my objectives, it would not be a problem to plan the activities as those objectives are my guidelines when preparing lesson. Pupils also are motivated in taking part during the lesson when we inform what we are expected from them. They surely will do their best to meet the expectation and indirectly, it promotes healthy competition among the pupils.

2nd Point: Activities that support constructivism and i + 1

It is crucial for teachers to plan activities that relate to their previous experience so that it would be easier for pupils to link what they have learnt with their experience. The knowledge that they have gained would be meaningful as well because they can exploit them in their real life experience. In addition, it is significant for teachers to plan activities that require a step beyond pupilsā€™ level as this would give challenges to them. When teachers prepare activities that challenge pupilsā€™ ability, this can avoid boredom during the lesson too.

3rd point: Allow pupils to drive and practice independent work skills.

When planning lesson, teachers should ensure that there should be a time where pupils are allowed to drive and practice independent work skills. This enhances pupilsā€™ independent learning and this is the time for them to exploit and express their own learning styles. Teacher should bear in mind that, each pupil has their own differences and each and every one of them is not the same. When teachers allocate at least an activity which allows pupils to work on their own, pupils will make their own decision on how they can accomplish the given task as according to their creativity and preference.

4th Point: Teamwork and collaborative learning

As I referred back to my three-hour lesson plans, I realised that I tried my best to instil teamwork and collaborative learning when planning those lessons. This as to reflect on one of the key points in personalised learning that is collaborative learning where pupils are actually learning from each other. When pupils are learning from their friends, this can reduce teachersā€™ talking time and their role as the sole knowledge provider. This also can encourage pupils to appreciate every resource of learning as now their friends also can be their knowledge providers.

5th Point: Feedback and comments as means of learning

Feedback and comments are necessary as these can help to motivate pupils in learning. When teachers inculcate feedback and comments among pupils during teaching and learning process, pupils actually will learn more as they will realise their strengths and weaknesses on that particular topic learnt. Moreover, these help to promote student-centred and personalised learning as pupils are actually learning from each other. Pupils also will think critically when giving feedback and comments as they surely want their comments and feedback can help their friends to enhance their learning and this indirectly promotes higher order thinking skill among pupils as well.

6th point: Variation of instruction and teaching-learning materials

It is crucial for teachers to vary their instruction and means of teaching as this surely can avoid boredom in the classroom. Teachers have to be creative when planning lesson, thus they may use videos, audio clips or animations as means to deliver the content and at the same time to attract pupilsā€™ attention to the lesson as one of the key points in personalised learning is to deliver instruction through multiple forms of media. Pupils also will feel interest towards the lesson as they are receiving input through a variety and different ways of learning.

7th point: Make teaching-learning process as enjoyable as possible yet meaningful at the same time

If we reflected our journey of life, surely we would say that our primary school days were the greatest and we really enjoyed those moments A LOT! Same goes to now. Pupils should enjoy their learning process as much as possible and only teachers can ensure that to happen. Teachers should come out with activities that are current to pupils and it is not wrong if teachers use games in their teaching as long as pupils are learning meaningfully behind all those ā€œlearning-gamesā€. As I referred to my three-hour lesson plans, I came out with activities that require pupils to explore new tools that I believe not many pupils have ever come across those tools. I am sure that pupils will feel excited to explore new things in their life and so they will enjoy doing it.

Before I end, I want to share something. I found a very interesting quotation byĀ Edward De Bono regarding higher order thinking skill.Ā HeĀ believesĀ that:

“..many highly intelligent people are bad thinkers.Ā Intelligence is like the horsepower of a car. A powerful car has the potential to drive at speed.Ā But you can have a powerful car and drive it badly.Ā Thinking is the driving skill with which each individual drives his or her intelligence.”

A quotation to ponder on.

LOL! Ā Have a good day people! šŸ™‚

3 responses

  1. hey idzy..nice blog! the last picture there attracyed me..it is difficult to think out of box even me…how do you think we can make our pupils think out box?

    March 28, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  2. Hi Sakila! Thanks for your compliment.
    To answer your question, I feel that we should expose the pupils to new life experience. For instance, we were exposed to textbook, workbook and teacher’s guided book as our references. And now, we have discovered some interesting tools such as Storybird, Kerpoof, Sketchfu and etc. Thus, let the pupils exploit those tools during the lesson as these tools allow them to express their creativity. More, we as teachers should reduce our role as knowledge provider (KP) as we are not the sole KP anymore. Let the pupils make the most talking in the class yet you have to ensure that their talking is relevant to the lesson šŸ™‚

    March 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  3. isaacismael87

    what kind of effective assessment would you use in either of you weekly lesson plans?

    read my latest entry here-http://isaacismael20.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/journey-of-completing-a03you-asked-for-it/

    March 31, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

