do you want to choose the path in ICT?

E-book Makeover!

Assalamualaikum and a very good day to all!

By the time I am writing this blog, there are only FOUR weeks away before we end our very last final semester as undergrad students! How time flies so fast without we are realising it! 🙂

Okay, back to real business here! E-book makeover! Who said we cannot makeover e-book? LOL! YES, we CAN makeover our e-books!

E-book is defined as an electronic book (also e-bookebookdigital book) is a text and image-based publication in digital form produced on, published by, and readable on computers or other digital devices. Sometimes the equivalent of a conventional printed book, e-books can also be born digital.

For children, I believe that an e-book should be picture-rich and full of colours. When I reflected my teaching practice experience, I used a lot of pictures as my assistance whenever I needed to provide explanation.  Pictures can tell thousand words and pictures actually can be categorised as visual aids. Pictures are great tool to be used with children in order to help them to get broader view and ideas and this supported by Chitravelu, Sithamparam and Teh (2005) where classroom teaching can be made more effective through the use of visual aids which are relatively cheap, easy to make or readily available.

Therefore, I strongly feel that e-book is a great tool to be used with children  in the classroom.

For my e- book makeover, I choose to makeover an e-book that I created by using Storybird few weeks ago. I wanted to use my previous e-book on Little Red Riding Hood yet I already used it for group work during Week 9. So I resorted to use my first piece of Storybird entitled “Mr. Tiger and its Food”. I choose to redo the whole book.

Here I included my original e-book. It is just a three-page story and I neglected to include the cover page. Actually I wanted to use power point to transform my e-book as it is easier for me to add colourful words which is not equipped in Storybird yet for some reasons, I could not use it (TT__TT)

Mr. Tiger and Its Food!

That’s the end of my e-book. Thus, I wanted to redo the whole e-book.

For the new version of my-ebook,

  • I added a front cover.
  • I changed the title as when I looked carefully at the picture, it is not a tiger. It is a leopard. Shame on me. LOL!
  • I added my storyline.
  • I added questions in oder to make the story more interactive with children.
  • I also included a jazz chant so as to attract pupils’ attention to the story.

Actually, I also wanted to change the font by power point presentation. Yet as I mentioned above, I could use the power point in my laptop due to some reasons that are unavoidable (TT__TT)

So this is the new version of my e-book! Sit back, relax and enjoy! 🙂

Playful Mr. Leopard

That’s all for this post! Hope you enjoy my new version of e-book. 🙂

5 responses

  1. isaacismael87

    good job.
    a very nice improvisation.
    infact a total change!

    however there’re still rooms for improvements.

    have a look at mine http://isaacismael20.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/ebook_who-goes-moo/

    March 22, 2011 at 2:29 am

    • Thank u! Thank u!
      Yup I realised I still can improve it. I wanted to use PPT as it would be easier for me to change the font but by the time I did this e-book, PPT not yet installed in my laptop.
      okay, will look at yours soon! 🙂

      March 22, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  2. Hye! Love our ebook. Maybe the fonts can be larger. All in all, a very interesting ebook!

    March 22, 2011 at 4:02 pm

  3. nice ebook idzy!Maybe you can have the fonts bigger! other than ood job dear!

    March 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    • Thanks Sakila! Ya..ya! I realised about the font. In Storybird, we cannot change the font as it is fixed and by the time I was doing this entry, my laptop did not equip with Microsoft Power Point so I have to use whatever resource I got at that time. Anyway, thanks for your comments. I really appreciated it 🙂

      March 28, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

