do you want to choose the path in ICT?

TPACK and ME!

Assalamualaikum w.b.t and a very good day to all the readers!

TPACK was sound so ‘alien’ during our PKEY time. And now in our PBEY4103, we meet again with TPACK ! I think most of us already got a better understanding on TPACK, right?!

T= Technology Knowledge

P= Pedagogy Knowledge

C=Content Knowledge

After I have gone through our third week lesson which was about TPACK with assistance from some additional reading about it, I felt that I did apply TPACK in some of my lessons. Here is one of my lessons during my three months of Teaching Practice that related to TPACK:

This is a reading lesson for my Year 4 Tekun with average level of proficiency. The topic was Come Rain or Shine and the lesson was focusing on the Four Seasons. The language focus was nouns on four seasons and words related to it. The materials used during this lesson included laptop, speakers, LCD projector, screen projector and some printed task sheets and I still remembered that this lesson was carried out in the Science Lab.

Here are the Technology, Pedagogy, and Content knowledge of my lesson.

Technology:

I chose a video to initiate my lesson and I knew that I needed something ‘bomb’ in order to grasp their attention to the lesson as most of my pupils [I would say 99% of them] had almost zero knowledge about this topic. This video tells about all the four seasons and gives a very simple description on each season and I believe that from the video itself, the kids would at least understand the basic differences of each season.

Besides, I chose Power Point Presentation as my assistance in delivering the content of the lesson. I included attention-grabbing pictures as stimulus to help the kids to better understand about each season.

Four Seasons [Slides]

Moreover, I chose to include a slide on reading comprehension as I only wanted them to answer orally.

I also included an example of postcard in the slides as a model for the kids to refer to when they were to ask to write a postcard to their friend.

Pedagogy:

Elicit responses: I used pictures as stimulus when delivering the content of the lesson. I showed the pictures and let the kids looked at them and then I wanted to hear what they can say about the pictures. Later, I explained to the kids about each season. With the pictures and the explanations, I believed that the kids had learnt at least something about the four seasons based on their responses given during the lesson.

Scaffolding: In the slides, I included an example of written postcard in the slides as a reference when they were to ask to write one to their friend. This was a lot easier than preparing a giant written postcard by using manila card or mahjong paper as I have to take care of the size of my handwriting and I could not use colorful font to differentiate information about each season.

Demonstrating: Before the kids read the poem, I demonstrated how to read the poem with the rhythm that I wanted them to use. Thus, the kids would know how to read it properly. Besides, I also demonstrated how to write a postcard by giving an example to them. With the proper guidance given, I supposed that the kids would be able to do their task well.

And here are the answers for “How C-k is being taught via P-k, and how T-k helps the P to make the students get C”:

Based on this lesson, I believed that the technology has helped me a lot in delivering the content of the lesson especially to ensure that the kids understand the topic. Since the kids did not have the opportunity to experience these seasons [possibly weather in Malaysia is almost alike to summer yet there are still another three seasons for me to teach and to make them understand about it] and thus I knew that ICT would be the best choice in delivering the lesson.

Actually, this lesson was carried out when my school mentor observed me and he commented that with primary kids, it would be a lot better to use realia yet he understood that it was impossible for me to bring snow in the class. So he said that, the used of pictures really helped the kids to understand the lesson well and by using slides in PPT, I could save a lot of money to print it. The pictures were big enough for the kids to see clearly and I believed that they understood the lesson through their responses given.

In addition, through the example and demonstration given [which I utilized the power point to the maximum] I could see that the kids could grasp easily on how to perform the task assigned to them.

Before I end, I suppose that it is up to the teachers whether they want to integrate TPACK on their lesson or not. It does not matter to apply the latest technology in the lesson [as the simple one like hand phone is also called TECHNOLOGY]. What matter is, the technology used is appropriate to the pedagogical knowledge and certainly it is meaningful to the content and all these T-P-Ck are related in a CONTEXT.

Whatever it is, the choice is in your hand 🙂

That’s all from me! Thanks for reading and feel free to drop your comments! 🙂

9 responses

  1. Hi Idzy!

    First of all, bravo for a post detailedly well done! Then, i’ve got to salute you for taking up the challenge of teaching on the topic of 4 seasons to malaysian pupils, who mostly i believe have not experienced it before!

    Through your post, i understand that you’ve applied T to aid pupils in understand the 4 different seasons, and i believe that they DO understand with such comprehensive exposure.. Good job! 🙂

    January 24, 2011 at 12:06 am

    • Hi Jong! Thanks so much for your compliment! 🙂 Yup, T especially the pictures in the slides were really helpful in explaining each season. Well, pictures speak thousand words right?! And I really hope that the kids could at least gain some knowledge about these seasons and also my hard time when preparing this LP is paid off! 🙂 Anyway, thanks for your comments!

      January 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm

  2. isaacismael87

    really admire your effort..
    probably this is your best LP if not one of d best…

    January 24, 2011 at 12:35 am

    • Thanks for your compliment, Ismail! I was having quite a hard time when preparing LP for this topic. Yet after looking at the kids’ responses during the lesson, it was paid off! Anyway, thanks for dropping by 🙂

      January 24, 2011 at 4:54 pm

  3. Hello dear. Good job. I realized that you have really prepared an interesting lesson for the kids even though the topic is a bit difficult for them to understand. I think you have done a good job in choosing the suitable approach to be used during the lesson. Scaffolding is really a good approach especially when the students are from the low proficiency group. We really need to guide them to complete their task and so on. Anyway I feel that you have really integrated TPACK in you lesson. Well done girl. Looking forward to read more interesting post from you dear. 🙂

    January 24, 2011 at 8:56 pm

  4. Good effort! I can see all the TPCK elements in your lesson. And I think it’s a good idea that you exposed the children with the four seasons. Some of them might not even realize about the existence of four seasons. And I can see that you really make use of technology to deliver the content. Overall, I think it’s a very good lesson and I’m sure that the children really enjoyed the lesson. Keep it up girl!! 🙂

    January 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm

  5. Hi Idzy..I believe definitely scaffolding had helped you best in the lesson. That’s what kids need to be confident in using the language…

    January 24, 2011 at 11:19 pm

  6. Hye…sorry for this very late comment. Actually, I can see how you link this lesson and make it versatile with the presentation of your adapted Millionaire game. So, I can see the link between this entry and the latest! Good job 😀

    February 26, 2011 at 1:51 am

    • Hello! It’s okay, Caryn-san. Better late than never rite? Yes! I enjoyed this lesson so much and I could see that the kids enjoyed it as well.And fyi, this lesson was carried out during one of my observations. Luckily everything went so well and as I expected. Anyway, thanks for your comment 🙂

      February 28, 2011 at 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

